Vulcan 900 Custom Windshield for Tall Person - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 01:58 PM Thread Starter

Vulcan 900 Custom Windshield for Tall Person

Hi. I'm new to motorcycling and LOVING my Vulcan 900 Custom SE. I'm adding my first windshield for occasional 2-3 hour long trips. Comfort on the highway (65 -70 mph) is more important than style but I definitely favor the look of sport shields. I'm 5'11" with a long torso and don't want one that just directs air from my body to my head. I'm considering the National Cycle Street Screen EX (18" high), or the Memphis Shades Big Shot 20", or Alley Cat 18" high. Any actual experience with these, especially from tall people, like myself? FYI - I'll probably order something by July 6th.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 04:29 PM

I have the factory touring shield and so far I like it,my custom is a lot better at highway speeds now,longest trip was 210 miles with a 10 minute fuel and drink stop.I'm 6ft tall and am satisfied with it.It all comes down to what's good for you.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 04:59 PM

Sounds like we may have a few things in common...

I just picked up my '09 Custom SE earlier this week to use as my daily commuter (51 miles each way on state highways), and I'm also 5' 11" (31" inseam). I opted to order the factory mid height windshield. It should be in by the middle of the week and I'll be mounting it right away. If you can hold off a few more days, I'll offer my .02 on that windshield.

-RW

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 06:51 PM Thread Starter

Yes, let me know what you think of it after you try it out.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-09-2010, 02:16 PM

I got my windshield yesterday and will be bolting it on this weekend. I will post an update with my thoughts on it's performance Monday or Tuesday after I get a chance to ride my 100+ mile commute.