cobra lite bar ?? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 10:26 AM Thread Starter

cobra lite bar ??

I had the dealer install a cobra lite bar. I was wondering what wattage the lamps are??

How do most people wire them in?? The dealer said most people have them on with the high beams. Then when you switch to low beam you are not blinding on coming traffic. Kinda made sense to me.

Being an electrician I am now wondering how many amps its is pulling with the high beams. Because I am assuming they just tapped into the wire for the high beam. I believe it is only on a 10 amp fuse.

high beam 65watts if the lite bar is 25 + 25= 50 watts total 115 watts so they would be drawing about 9.5 amps. that may be to close for comfort

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 11:45 AM

Garage
They are H-3 25 Watt bulbs. When I installed mine, I just followed the instructions that came with the light bar, so I have to turn them on and off manually, via the toggle switch.

Jim
2010 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 12:32 PM

Depending on your state laws, having the bar on with high beams is illegal. Last bike I wired it on with either. This bike its wired low beams only. Your choice.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

2012 Nomad 1700
Cobra Luggage Rack
Airlite Crash Bar Chaps
Kuryakyn Offset Highway Pegs
Vulcan Emblem on Passenger Back Rest
Fire and Steel Light Bar
Signal Dynamics Headlight Modulator
Wolo Bad Boy Horn
Kuryakyn Power Point
Back Off XP Brake Light Modulator

08 900 Custom - Traded in!

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 12:40 PM Thread Starter

Dealer said state we in live they should be off with the low beam. Iowa