To fill or not to fill? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-12-2010, 11:11 AM Thread Starter

To fill or not to fill?

Hey guys, again I am new to this amazing motorcycle hobby and I have a dumb question. It is going to stay cold here for a while, and I need to fill the bike up. Is it better to let them sit with a empty tank or full tank. This will be last day for a few weeks to get it out to fill up. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks

ATCKawi
2010 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom

Denver, Colorado
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-12-2010, 12:15 PM

ATCKawi,

Yes fill the tank and add Saeform or Stabil. Here's my winter storage check list for the Minnesota 6 months of winter! Ha!

Pre storage------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

___ Check your radiator level, add aluminum safe antifreeze as necessary. Check to -35 degrees!

___ Clean and lube the chain.

___ Change the oil and filter.

Final steps------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

___ Completely wash and dry the bike.

___ Take bike for short ride to dry and get oil circulated.

___ Fill gas tank and get air in tires.

___ Put some silicon oil all over the front fork tubes. Bounce the bike to work the front suspension

___ Clean and treat all leather with saddle soap and a good leather oil.

___ Treat plastics and vinyl with Armorall.

___ Spray down any chrome, or polished or raw aluminum.

___ Add a fuel stabilizer.

___ Run engine / or take a short ride to get stabilizer mixed in.

___ Drain your float bowls. (optional for non fuel injected engines)

___ Pull battery and add distilled water as required. Hook up a trickle charger.

___ Stuff WD-40 soak rags into the outlets of the mufflers to seal.

___ Use a good breathable motorcycle cover to keep the dust off. An old sheet works great.