Shock Absorber Adjustment - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2012, 11:53 AM Thread Starter

Shock Absorber Adjustment

I am new to riding and certainly new to my bike. I am also an 'intellectual' (By Bill Cosby definition: Someone that studies something that others know naturally.) So, I actually got to know MOM (Motorcycle Owner's Manual).

I was reading about the rear shock absorber and noticed that it comes from the factory set to 4. (I got my 2010 'new', no miles) They state that this is what it should be for a 150lb. rider and nothing else. Well, I am 260 lbs. I don't want to create problems for myself, so I am wondering what to set this to. MOM is unclear about it, just saying that going up in value is a stronger shock. So, assuming that 7 is reserved for a fully loaded bike (at ~400lbs.) and 4 is for 150lbs., I can't make the math work. If I divide evenly that would mean a setting of 1 is for a helium balloon. the only other solution I have is that the numbers are on a logrithimic scale.

I have not really taken the bike out of my neighborhood, yet, so I don't know what kind of ride I really have on streets that might actually have some bumps. I just don't want a fender rubbing my tire or something.

Recommendations would be great. Also, what are some problems that I could start seeing if this isn't set correctly, so that I know?

Thanks,
otis

In my experience, a Motorcyclist goes places to see, a Biker goes places to be seen.

Homemade lowers
OEM Engine guard
Mustang Seat w/backrest
Tail Blazer oscillating tail light
Minnesota Fats 21" Windshield
Trail Blazer oscillating headlight
Cobra sissy bar and luggage rack
Saddlemen Extra Jumbo Drifter Saddlebags
Saddlemen Quick Release Saddlebag Mounts
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2012, 12:09 PM
Top Contributor

Shocking!