Beginner questions the books don't seem to cover. - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 12:32 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Beginner questions the books don't seem to cover.

Sorry if this seems long-winded. I'm an Engineer and tend to analyse things to death.

As I've mentioned in a few other threads, I'm a brand new rider and my 1st bike is a Vulcan EN500C. I decided to take it to the shop to have the tires done and have it gone over top to bottom. While waiting, I reread Proficient Motorcycling, the MSF book and have been trolling the Internet for everything I can find. Plenty of great information to be found in these sources, but it seems like there are some general practical questions that go unanswered. I have a few about my bike as well. I'll just get to it and list 'em:

Downhill turns: The advice is always, "slow down more so you can accelerate through the turn". In my neck of the woods, there are extended, twisty downhills where this is simply impossible. These are roads where I downshift even my little 4 banger hatchback. What's the best strategy? Engine braking, smooth throttle control and careful front/rear braking?

Uphill turns: Uphill curves are supposed to be easier, but there are some rather steep, hairpin turns not too far from my home. For now I intend to outright avoid them, but I wonder if they're even possible. Think uphill, hairpin switchbacks pick-up trucks have serious problems with on a sunny, dry day.

Road feel: In most cars and even bicycles, one can feel the tires starting to scrub before they let loose. I'm not planning on pushing the envelope, but will a small cruiser like the '500 give clues as it gets close to the limit or is it a case where the tires suddenly telegraph, "I'm done" and arrange an intimate meeting between the rider and pavement?