Any lady riders willing to take a newbie under her wing - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-17-2012, 09:23 PM Thread Starter

Any lady riders willing to take a newbie under her wing

Hello, I am new to riding and would love to hear from some woman riders; your experience, your advise and even suggestions on apparel (not for vanity sake either, lol). No offense gentleman but sometimes a sister needs another sister! : ) I took the MSF class here in Illinois this past June and recently purchased my first bike. I chose the 1999 Vulcan CN500 as it was a perfect fit for my 5'3 frame. I know only two woman who ride and I would love to hear from more. Like your opinions on joining a riding club. Did anyone fear turns and/or speed and how did you overcome it. Looking forward to hearing from my fellow lady riders.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-18-2012, 08:02 AM

Practice, practice, practice. The best way to get experience is to ride often. Google "meetup groups" in your area and you will find local women who ride. As far as apparel, that is kind of personal preference. I wear a guy's jacket by fieldsheer and women's pants by tourmaster. Find a few people who ride and hook up with them is going to be your best bet. Ride safe. Good luck.
-Terese

'04 1500 Classic
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-21-2012, 01:59 PM

congrats on taking the msf course and getting your bike! i'm 46, started riding 4 years ago and my first bike was a kawa 500. people cautioned me against that bike for the sole reason that you are likely to outgrow it quickly (and i did; after 2 years i moved up to a vulcan 800 classic). but i have no regrets because it the 500 was a wonderful bike to learn on. it's very nimble and responsive and the engine size is great for a new rider, in particular a woman in my opinion.