Vulcan 900 Gearing - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-29-2017, 06:59 PM Thread Starter

Year/Make/Model: 2011 Vulcan 900 Classic LT
Displacement/CC's: 900
Color: Blue
Vulcan 900 Gearing

I'm new to the riding world and forum and have an odd question. Got a used 2011 Vulcan 900 Classic for my first bike last week that was well taken care of with only 2,700 miles. I've noticed that at 70mph in 5th seems to really keep the engine revved up, almost like it needs another gear. The dealer I purchased it from says it is nothing to worry about and that is normal. Just thought I'd ask those of you who have some experience if this is correct and if anyone has had any issues on long trips on the interstate. Many thanks ahead of time for your comments. Ride safe.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-29-2017, 07:26 PM
Top Contributor

Year/Make/Model: 2010 NOMAD
Displacement/CC's: 1700
Color: Black/titanium
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmorrellxlr8 View Post
I'm new to the riding world and forum and have an odd question. Got a used 2011 Vulcan 900 Classic for my first bike last week that was well taken care of with only 2,700 miles. I've noticed that at 70mph in 5th seems to really keep the engine revved up, almost like it needs another gear. The dealer I purchased it from says it is nothing to worry about and that is normal. Just thought I'd ask those of you who have some experience if this is correct and if anyone has had any issues on long trips on the interstate. Many thanks ahead of time for your comments. Ride safe.
lots of opinions on this,Yes to me it needs a 6th,is why I went to a nomad,but the 9 is a fantastic all around bike,there are sprocket or tire mods or both,some others will chime in,Hope this helps
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-29-2017, 08:09 PM
Top Contributor

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmorrellxlr8 View Post