Suggestions? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 07:36 PM Thread Starter

Suggestions?

I posted this in the welcome area with no response, must have been the wrong topic.

I am looking for my 1st bike. I really like the Vulcan 900 line, and have signed up to this forum to learn all I can.

I have co-workers pushing me towards Sportsters and yamahas, but I lean towards the Vulcans and some Hondas. Any suggestions from this forum would be great. I have been riding for a several years just never owned my own bike. I am 6'1" about 215 lbs and the bikes on my short list are as follows (looking at used due to budget).

Kawasaki Vulcan 900
maybe a
Honda Sabre 1100

Any suggestions as to why or why not, or any other bikes will be appreciated. I am planning on riding two up with my wife once I get used to the bike if that makes a difference.

The site looks great and I look forward to your comments.

Thank you.

Mike

All of us get lost in the darkness, dreamers learn to steer by the stars
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 07:53 PM
Banned

The size of the Vulcan was a concern for me when I was looking - I'm 6-4 215lb. I was worried that my legs would get tired. Turns out it's not a problem at all.

WRT the Sabre.... In my opinion it's too clean. It just looks.... like a Honda. Everything is in the right place, it's clean, it's pretty, it's just not... cool. It's like the V-6 Mustang - it looks OK but there's nothing else there to make it bad azz. Just my opinion.