LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 08:34 PM Thread Starter

Year/Make/Model: 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan Classic
Displacement/CC's: 1600
Color: Red
Garage
I feel so wobbly coming to a slow stop

Hi everybody.

I'm pretty new to cruiser riding so maybe I just need some more miles under my belt but I was wondering if anyone else feels so unstable when coming to a slow stop. I'm on a VN1600 Classic and this is by far the biggest heaviest motorcycle I've ever been on. My previous bike was 96 Honda VFR which is more towards the sport bike end of things but even so, it was no lightweight. I know to keep my head up and not look down at the ground and I've checked tire pressures to be sure those are okay. I have no luggage so there's no question of unbalanced loads mucking things up. I did a google search for this problem and ended up on a Yamaha site where folks were discussing this issue and one of the guys says his Dunlop E3's were notorious for being unstable at slow speeds and that changing tires eliminated his problem. I happen to have the same Dunlops on mine. I should also mention the fork springs/fluid and steering head bearings were down within the last 10,000 miles so I think that is all pretty sorted.

I'm willing to accept that I might just need more saddle time on the Classic but was wondering if anybody else has had a similar experience and if anything other than simple experience helped eliminate that feel awkward wobbly, unstable feeling when rolling up to stops. Sometime it kind of even tries to make a right turn on me right as I come to halt.
dvictorh and pah like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 08:37 PM
pah

Year/Make/Model: 09 Vulcan 900 Custom
Color: Burnt Orange
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiloh101 View Post
Hi everybody.