No requirement for turn signals? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-04-2012, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Top Contributor

No requirement for turn signals?

I just started riding a motorcycle again after a very long layoff and Iím somewhat embarrassed to admit I didnít really pay much attention to the two-wheeled vehicles before getting back on one myself. Now, when driving around in what you guys call a ďcageĒ, I see em everywhere! Today, one pulled up in front of me in the left turn lane and it had no turn signals! Well now wait a minute. There were none on the little motorcycle I rode back in the 50s & early 60s. Matter of fact there were none on my truck back then either and it had only one taillight, located on the left rear. All perfectly legal here in Florida, back then. You used hand signals, but there were probably only about 5% of the motor vehicles on the road as there are now.

My question is, how do you signal your intentions on a motorcycle without turn signals?

I honestly donít remember since its been so long ago, but I donít believe anyone watches for hand signals anymore and it sure would be awkward on a motorcycle! I found it is legal in Florida not to have em on motorcycles, but with todayís traffic it seems a little insane not to.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-04-2012, 04:08 PM
Lifetime Premium

Year/Make/Model: 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan
Displacement/CC's: 1500FI
Color: Ebony Black/Galaxy Silver
Garage
The hand signals are the same as for a bicycle. Left arm straight out is left turn. Ledft arm out with upper armturned up like an "L" is a right turn. The inverted "L" is stop. Personally I would install turn signals.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-04-2012, 05:00 PM Thread Starter
Top Contributor