• 1 Post By btom

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-26-2016, 04:35 PM Thread Starter

Year/Make/Model: 2009 Vulcan 900 Classic LT
Displacement/CC's: 903
Color: Red/gold
Garage
Target fixation

Hey guys. Been back on the bike for a few days now. I haven't ridden in 5 years. I took the MSF class when I got my license back in 2009. So I am basically a beginner again.

I have been tooling around southern Arizona on backroads trying to get back into the game, and get the feel for my (new to me) Vulcan 900 Classic. I remember a lot of the course, and feel I am getting my confidence back on the bike. I have not had any issues, and was working on leaning into turns today as a tight turn caught me off guard yesterday and I had to lean father than I anticipated which gave me that weird oh shit feeling.

I feel I know what I need to work on, mainly looking through turns, and feeling comfortable leaning the bike. My main focus today was being sure to set my speed, and making sure I was in the appropriate gear, and throttling through the entire turn.

Everything went well today, but I came to a point where I needed to turn off the road I was on and onto a side road. I set my speed and gear, and was ready to steer the bike through the turn, but at the last moment noticed a lot of sand on the road directly in the path of my turn. As you can imagine, I focused on it, my turn turned into shit and I went wide. I bounced the bike back up with my right foot and regained control. As I rode off I figured no harm, no foul, and thanked my lucky stars.