Blue pipes - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-05-2011, 08:34 AM Thread Starter

Blue pipes

My first experience with blue pipes was from the previous owners of my Suzuki GS750. He will warm it up at 4k!!!! But in all fairness, are blue pipes a sign of abuse? I see this bike I like (2006 Kawasaki Vulcan Anniversary Edition 1500 - $5500), it is probably not the one at the top of my list but the blue in the pipes worries me... Im just ignorant on this and many things...
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-05-2011, 10:47 AM

I have seen this usually when you just jump on start and go . also a dirty air filter and installing a pipe or air intake without adjusting fuel injection i am no expert just letting you know what i have seen.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-06-2011, 12:34 PM Thread Starter

Thanks Rick, I appreciate your input. Anyone else?

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-06-2011, 02:31 PM
Top Contributor

depending on how much blueing you see...and how many miles on the bike... it is not abuse and is pretty common to see some blueing..

here is a quote from a decent motorcycle site FAQ area. I thought it was from running lean...?? ... but this suggests it is from running too rich... ?

can you tell us if it has stock mufflers? stock air filter? or not?

also if it has a power commander or some such fuel controller device it may be set wrong...? anyway, it suggests checking the fuel mixture is in order... maybe the choke is open too long ?? Dr. Bob should jump in here if you are lucky... :-)

Annie