Braking Question - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 09:07 PM Thread Starter

Braking Question

Hello, I've been riding my 900 almost every day since I got it about 9 months ago. A couple of times I've had to do emergency stops, once while traveling at about 50 mph along a straight road and once while traveling pretty slow after turning a corner. In both cases my rear tire slid out to the side, not enough to cause me to lose control but enough to make me think I'm doing something wrong.

My initial thought was that I'm not hitting the back brake hard enough, i.e., if the back wheel keeps spinning when the front stops maybe it's likely to go off to the side. However, after looking at other explanations it seems like maybe the issue could be caused by the opposite problem, i.e. too much brake at the rear tire causing it to skid. Both times the rear tire (but not the front) did skid. Any thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 09:29 PM

Garage
Too on much brake on the back tire will cause you to have it slide out, especially if you lock the tire up. Try reading Proficient Motorcycling: The Ultimate Guide to Riding Well by David Hough. It explains so much about the dynamics/balance of motorcycles. Alot of it seems like common sense, but it's the kind of common sense where you think "oh ya, that makes sense, but I never would have thought of that" haha. I am on page 200...

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-06-2014, 09:42 PM
Top Contributor

Garage
The back tire won't skid unless it loses traction, which can be caused by too much rear brake (or too much throttle at the wrong time, but your question is about braking). It just comes with practice, knowing how hard you can mash the rear brake without locking it.