Throttle hand goes numb... - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-29-2010, 09:55 PM Thread Starter

Question Throttle hand goes numb...

Okay, so I started riding this year in April. First bike, took the MSF riding course, the whole shebang. I've been riding pretty much every day, rain or shine (yeah, I got a rain suit too). I've had a problem since the first days of getting the bike ('97 VN800B) - after a steady ride of 20-30 minutes I notice my right hand going numb. It's as if I've been laying across it wierd and it has started to fall asleep. I thought it was due to me being a noob and white-nuckling it too much but it's still happening. Additionally I've tried different gloves to see if that was the problem.

I'm baffled Is it my technique? Do I have an issue in the handlebars/suspension? I've slapped a Throttle Rocker on the end to see if that helped...still going numb after a while. What am I doing wrong?

'Goon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-29-2010, 11:35 PM
Lifetime Premium

I think it's caused by the handlebars vibrating from the engine. Some aftermarket grips are supposed to help reduce vibration.

09 Vulcan 500 LTD
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-30-2010, 12:46 AM
Lifetime Premium

I see you're not that old, but I've had a constant problem with the numbness since getting my 900 Classic this spring. A modest set of risers (2" higher & 3/4" back), plus Throttle Rocker and gloves has done much to help. There are bar end weights you could experiment with, or something called a bar snake that might help. I'm constantly reminding myself to relax, change my hand position on the grip often, and take plenty of breaks. Adjusting the Throttle Rocker as high as possible might help. Good luck!

Ron in Cincinnati

Wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then.
.........Bob Seger

Last edited by pacomutt; 10-30-2010 at 12:49 AM.