Your thoughts on the right starter bike - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 10-03-2010, 04:02 PM Thread Starter

Your thoughts on the right starter bike

Hey everyone- Mike from Phoenix AZ here! -Man, I am ready to ge a bike. I am enrolled in the beginner motorcycle training class in a few weeks. I am currently shopping bikes and wanted to seek your opinion on a good choice for my first bike.

I am 6'2, 175 pounds. I have zero motorcycle experience other than farting around my neighborhood on a 150cc scooter. I do not know how to shift, brake, etc.

It is important to me that I buy a first bike that will fit my needs as a beginner. I don't want to get anything too big and be intimidated to ride it, but I don't get a smalle bike and grow out of it too quickly.

Can you please receommend a good bike or a bike that you started on? I am thinking of a Vulcan 800....Is that too big? What are the motorcycle instructors thoughts on this topic?

Thanksfor your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 10-03-2010, 07:16 PM

I think the Vulcan 800 would be a good bike personally I figure a bike is only as big and fast as you right hand lets it be. I have been riding on the road for around 10yrs and including dirt about 20years now personally the best bike you can get is one you are comfortable on I would go around to dealers and just sit on random bikes and get the feel for them. the one that you sit on and just feel right on would be your best bet. Hope that helped some.
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 10-03-2010, 07:27 PM
Top Contributor

Hello mikeaz,
Toy4xchris makes good points... try out thr 2009 Vulcan 500, thr 800 and 900. I like the 500. Like a pair of shoes try them on for size and feel
Good luck, lets us know what you decide, Dan

2007 EN500-17K miles
USN Retired
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.