Parking a motorcycle - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 11:40 AM Thread Starter

Parking a motorcycle

I see that to properly park a motorcycle on a street, you are supposed to park with the rear tire backed against the curb. I don't have a problem with that, I was just wondering why.

Yes, I am a noob rider

To understand true love, lock your dog and your wife in the trunk of your car for an hour and then see which one is glad to see you when you come back.

2011 900 Classic LT
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 11:47 AM
Top Contributor

I don't "Know", but I will give you my opinions why.

1. Takes up less space.
2. Front end pointed in the direction needing to go.
3. If pointed uphill, you can leave in neutral and it won't roll off.

I am sure there are more, but that is what first comes to mind.

1985 Honda Nighthawk 650 (First Bike)
2004 Vulcan 1500 Classic (First Big Bike)
2007 Vulcan 1600 Meanstreak (Love Affair)
1999 Yamaha 1100 V-Star Custom (Right Price at the Time)
2008 V2K Classic (Favorite Vulcan)
2014 HD Ultra Limited (Bells and Whistles)
Who would have thought I would grow up to become "Spatially Educated" and play Connect-the-Dots for a living.
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 01:03 PM
Top Contributor

My opinion, don't know if it's correct.

Most streets crown in the center for water shed. If you park with your front tire against the curb, you will have to try and pull your bike backwards, uphill, by the bars. If you have a light bike, no big deal but still a pain. The big bikes, near impossible.

When you back in, the bike rolls down hill into the spot with no effort, then when you leave it is all motor that is getting you out of the hole that you would be stuck in. Make sense?

2007 V2K, Pearl White/Ti, Road Burner 3", Fi2000, Euro gears, Double Darkside (totaled 4/25/15)
1998 STX 1100 JETSKI (HERS)