New to Riding - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-10-2010, 02:07 PM Thread Starter

New to Riding

Hello Everyone

I'm new to riding and will be taking the basic instruction course next month. I did have a Yamaha 450 about 30 years ago during another life. I'm looking at a Vulcan 900 Classic LT. I was wondering if anyone had a little experience with this bike. I'm 5' 8" and weight 230. Is this bike big enough or too big for a newbie. How is it on long rides say 250 miles. I love to ride from Phoenix to the Grand Canyon and it's 250 one way.

Also, I read that the RPM's are high around 70 MPG. Does anyone have any numbers on this.

I was also looking at the Suzuki C50T. Here's a loaded question, which do you prefer and have taken out for a ride.

The dealership here will not allow any test drives. So I'm a little confused as to how I'm going to pick the right ride for me.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Scott
Mesa, AZ
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-10-2010, 02:28 PM
Top Contributor

Year/Make/Model: 2009 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom
Displacement/CC's: 900
Color: Black
Garage
Welcome to the forum, Scott.

If you decide to go with the 900, you'll find it to be a very apt bike. Since you've already had a bike, albeit a while ago, i wouldn't really consider you a newbie. You'll adapt very quickly to the 900 and it will satisfy your needs for years to come.

The higher rpms that you MAY experience if someone hasn't already put on a sprocket are really of no concern. The bike is made to run at those rpms and will not suffer from it. Lowering the revs while at speed is a personal preference that many of us have opted for.

As far as being big enough for a Canyon run, I used to go there two-up on a 650 Yamaha and the 900 Kawi has a good deal more umph in the engine and comfort to the bike. It will handle the trip easily, especially if you're on your own.