Coolant Type/Check level - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > Motorcycle Models > Vulcan 800

Old 04-22-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
destindiver1980

Question Coolant Type/Check level

Hi everyone, glad to be a part of the forums. 2 questions.

First, I have a 2004 Vulcan 800 Classic.

Should I use a coolant for an aluminum engine "Dexrone". Or do I use regular coolant?

I do not see a low and high mark where I should be checking the coolant level? I see a little clear hose right below where I add coolant, on the right side right below the top of the exhaust. Is this where the high and low marks are or am I looking in the wrong spot? I do not see any coolant in the hose, should I, does this mean it is low? Any ideas or advice would be helpful as this is my first Vulcan and I have little knowledge about cruisers.

Thank you in advance!
destindiver1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2010, 02:10 PM   #2
vroc

Default coolant check

Good day , mate .

original color of the coolant is green , so it should be quite visible thru the tube you are looking at . And , yes , that's the right place to look at , just below filler neck . If you use a flash light , you will notice 2 marks - low&high on the black plastic box , and your coolant level should be in between , not less and not more . If you do not see it , you better fill it up . Distilled water is the best , you can get it on every gas station , and you probably need very small amount , so pour slowly . Do not use tap water as it is too hard and will create scale inside your cooling system . As for the brand of coolant , I will let someone from your own country answer that one , as I am not familiar with that brand , but most of them are to be mixed with water on 50-50% ratio , and yes , it has to be one for the aluminium engines .
vroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:18 PM   #3
destindiver1980