Coolant change Vulcan 1500 Classic FI - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > Motorcycle Models > Vulcan 1500

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2013, 05:51 AM   #1
gilligan841
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Coolant change Vulcan 1500 Classic FI

I wanted to change the coolant by myself yesterday and was quite surprised to discover 4-5 hoses plugged to the gas tank.

Considering the radiator cap is under the gas tank, do I really have to remove it to refill the coolant or is there another simple way to do it?

If I have to remove all that hoses, I'll bring my bike to a Kawasaki dealer to do the job, because it will be too complicated for me.

Thanks.
gilligan841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2013, 07:15 AM   #2
Boomer914
Senior Member
 
Boomer914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CHI City
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gilligan841 View Post
I wanted to change the coolant by myself yesterday and was quite surprised to discover 4-5 hoses plugged to the gas tank.

Considering the radiator cap is under the gas tank, do I really have to remove it to refill the coolant or is there another simple way to do it?

If I have to remove all that hoses, I'll bring my bike to a Kawasaki dealer to do the job, because it will be too complicated for me.

Thanks.
Its way easier than you think. Think of it as all plug and play. Every connection goes in one way and they all have there place.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
__________________
Never give up,
Never give in,
Passion is all you need,
Ride 'till

Vulcan 1600 classic
Memphis shades 19'' Black E-Coated straps

Just Stock Fun For Now!!!!
Boomer914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:34 AM   #3
gilligan841
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomer914 View Post
Its way easier than you think. Think of it as all plug and play. Every connection goes in one way and they all have there place.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
So I really have to unplug them all and remove the gas tank to reach the radiator cap?
gilligan841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:39 AM   #4
Angel of Death
Member
 
Angel of Death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gilligan841 View Post
So I really have to unplug them all and remove the gas tank to reach the radiator cap?
I was able to disconnect just the two at the back by the seat and then just slightly lift the tank and slide it back just enough to get to the cap.

AoD


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
__________________
-- AoD

_______________________
'01 1500 Classic FI
28k miles
V&H Longshots
Thunder air kit
K&N air filter
Grasshopper backrest
Lindby Linbar highway bar
Kuryakyn Iso Dually pegs
Jardine grips
Baron's Mini-Tach black
Angel of Death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:03 AM   #5
Vulcan_tom
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 254
Default

on my 2004 1500 classic, i just remove the speedo and get my hand in there to remove the rad cap
Vulcan_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:21 AM   #6
sfair
Top Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vulcan_tom View Post
on my 2004 1500 classic, i just remove the speedo and get my hand in there to remove the rad cap
FI is different.
sfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:24 AM   #7
sfair
Top Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,491
Default

I recommend you get a service manual for your bike. In there, it will describe how to unclip the fuel lines and how to change the coolant, among other valuable issues. Well worth the cost. Then you can do it yourself and learn too!
sfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:27 AM   #8
gilligan841
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfair View Post
I recommend you get a service manual for your bike. In there, it will describe how to unclip the fuel lines and how to change the coolant, among other valuable issues. Well worth the cost. Then you can do it yourself and learn too!
I have a Claymer manual, but, in this case, it is only related to carburetor system...
gilligan841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 11:15 AM   #9
lemonhead61
Member
 
lemonhead61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 33
Garage
Default

It is easy. you do not have to remove tank. I have a 2005 classic 1500 FI the tank slides back just enough to get to the cap. check Gadget's Page it has all kinds of help. http://www.gadgetjq.com/gadgetsfixitpage.htm make sure you DO NOT use car antifreeze.
Here is How to; http://www.gadgetjq.com/coolant_replacement_howto.htm
Here is what type to use; http://www.gadgetjq.com/coolant_replacement.htm
__________________
2005 1500 Classic FI, Colorado Clearview windshield,Kawasaki Lowers, Light bar & visors, Highway bars, Kuryakan Offset Long Horn pegs, Leather bags, Passenger floorboards, Driver and Passenger Backrests, Kuryakan ISO Grips with throttle lock, Windshield bag with a cheap shark 600w stereo, Trailer Hitch,LED lights,Lots of chrome additions, VROC #32980 Decatur, Illinois
lemonhead61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 01:56 PM   #10
gilligan841
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonhead61 View Post
It is easy. you do not have to remove tank. I have a 2005 classic 1500 FI the tank slides back just enough to get to the cap. check Gadget's Page it has all kinds of help. http://www.gadgetjq.com/gadgetsfixitpage.htm make sure you DO NOT use car antifreeze.
Here is How to; http://www.gadgetjq.com/coolant_replacement_howto.htm
Here is what type to use; http://www.gadgetjq.com/coolant_replacement.htm
Thanks so much! My intuition told me that dismantling all those hoses under the tank was illogical for maintenance considerations; that's why I asked here.

Furthermore, there is apparently no fuel flow cutter out there; what complicated things twice.
gilligan841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum