Tachometer installation help on '11 VN 900 - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > Motorcycle Models > Vulcan 900

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 04:24 PM   #1
diamondhill
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 64
Unhappy Tachometer installation help on '11 VN 900

I purchased this new tach from BKRider and the single fire adaptor from e-bay. I have my tach hooked up to an external 12V supply and the tach does initialize (0 to 8K and back)) when it is pluged in.
Each coil shoul have a - and a + and the adaptor wires should go to -
With the engine idling, when I measure from the bike ground to any of the 2 wires on each coil, I get a + reading on all 4 terminals( one red and one black). I did it again and the same + + + + readings. I know that the black should be the - and I hooked up the adapter to these terminals.
Start the engine but the tach stays at 0...
What am I doing wrong here and why the + reading from both terminals of the coil? Any help is more than welcome.
[/IMG]
diamondhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2012, 04:40 PM   #2
C00lCountry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Woodford, VA
Posts: 102
Default

Well from what I remember on most coils they work like this.
Power to the hot side
Wire to plug for spark to travel to
Ground wire is controlled by points or electronic ignition to tell it when to spark.
I not sure details on tach.
__________________
2008 Vulcan 1500 Classic fi
C00lCountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:46 PM   #3
diamondhill
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 64
Default

Thanks, but I was asking why do I get a + reading on each of the coil terminals.
I think I will need a electrical diagram to find out.
diamondhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:00 PM   #4
C00lCountry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Woodford, VA
Posts: 102
Default

If the ground is not constant, then it is an open circuit.
When you touch with test light it is complete circuit then for reason you get current on both sides.
__________________
2008 Vulcan 1500 Classic fi
C00lCountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:05 PM   #5
diamondhill
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 64
Default

I measure 12 V with a voltmeter. Bike ground to each of the terminals on both coils gives me ++++. WTF?
diamondhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:08 PM   #6
sfair
Top Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7,175
Default

Twist tach power and light together and connect to coil red wire. (common between two coils)
Connect adapter to other two coil wires.
Connect ground to convenient black/yellow.

Your meter reads 12v on all coil leads because it cannot react fast enough to register negative going pulse with bike running.
Engine not running will give 12v on both sides of coil.
sfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:39 PM   #7
diamondhill
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 64
Default

Great ideea and thank you much. I will try tomorrow morning.
And just to aviod making any connections inside the headlamp can I just connect the tach's black wire(-) to the bike's ground(frame) and not the battery?
Also, because would be easier I will connect tach's power to one coil(+) and light wire to the other coil(+)
diamondhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:49 PM   #8
sfair
Top Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7,175
Default

If you can find a good frame ground, you will be off and running!
sfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:26 PM   #9
diamondhill
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 64
Default

I will connect the ground wire on the bottom screw of one of the coils. And do you think the reason it did not work is the fact that I had the power from the external power supply? Because this is the only thing I will do different now? Thank you again.
diamondhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:29 PM   #10
sfair
Top Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7,175
Default

Hmmm, with seperate tach voltages (12 volts and signal) plus seperate grounds, it may be a problem. At the very least, supply ground would have to be referenced to bike battery ground.
sfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum