Helmet vs how fast you ride. - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > General Vulcan Forums Discussions > Motorcycle Safety And Riding Gear Discussions

Old 11-02-2012, 01:52 PM   #1
Old Syko

Default Helmet vs how fast you ride.

I've been wearing a 3/4 helmet since I started riding again a couple months or so back. Well the weather has changed so I went to the winter hat which is a Bell full face. Now I catch myself going way to fast. It seems I got so used to the sound and feel that now the full face has changed my perception of things. If I open the shield I slow right down. I've always depended on the seat of my pants whether riding, driving, flying, or anything else I do but I'm having trouble adjusting to the difference in sound and air movement in this case. Yep I know I'm strange, but surely I'm not totally alone here am I?
Old Syko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2012, 02:02 PM   #2
Lunatic
Lifetime Premium

You're not alone.

I live in Florida, so I have the option not to wear a helmet. They're hot, uncomfortable things and the extra weight and wind resistance tends to irritate my bulging discs in my neck.

Plus, they give me this 'Invincible' feeling I don't really like.
Lunatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:44 PM   #3
HRH_Z
Top Contributor

They're definitely not comfortable, especially when it's warm. A lot of people are just scared of not wearing a full-face helmet anytime they're touching the motorcycle.

Vulcan 900 Classic

Harley Davidson Road King (103")
HRH_Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
Old Syko

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunatic View Post
You're not alone.

I live in Florida, so I have the option not to wear a helmet. They're hot, uncomfortable things and the extra weight and wind resistance tends to irritate my bulging discs in my neck.