88 Chop - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > Motorcycle Models > The Bobber, Ratbike, Chopper Connection!

Old 09-18-2012, 08:57 AM   #1
hue-e

Default 88 Chop

So I scooped up this '97 Kaw 88 Vulcan 1500 for $200. It runs really strong, but needs clutch work (worth a visit to the shop for that part). I've been poking around on this thing for a couple months and have finally started to get pretty close with how I'll do the final fab work.

I'm still thinking about which fender to use. I bought a blank, but the top of it is flat, I wanted round (I'm selling it if anyone is interested $80, never used or cut). so I dropped the front fender on the back (round top) and it fits the contour of the tire better. I may decide to weld a strip into the center of it to widen it and just use that, or buy a different (rounded-top) fender. But that's another $200 so we'll see. That will all be secured to the swing-arm with a short sissybar as the struts.

anyway, that's not why I'm even posting. This bike has a double backbone on it under that huge gas tank and I'm curiuos if anyone has cut that out and replaced it with a single... or will it weaken the frame to much. I'm considering getting a peanut tank and I could go two routes to mount it. a) replace the double with a single backbone, or b) cut the tunnel out of whatever tank I buy and put a wider one in. thought?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0021.jpg
Views:	413
Size:	102.6 KB
ID:	13357   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0173.jpg
Views:	460
Size:	98.4 KB
ID:	13358  
hue-e is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-03-2012, 07:35 PM   #2
jpikey85

that...is a sick ride man. pics when done yeah!?
jpikey85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:09 AM   #3
hue-e

absolutely.
hue-e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 02:27 PM   #4
Bluto

Quote: