Cleaning products and tips - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > General Vulcan Forums Discussions > General Vulcan Talk

Old 09-10-2012, 03:37 PM   #1
jhow34

Default Cleaning products and tips

Hi everyone. I am new to the cruiser bike scene. I've had a couple crotch rockets back in the day but never a chromed up cruiser. My question is what do you guys/gals use to clean your rides? Any tips or tricks used would also be greatly appreciated. I know it's a matter of just spending some time cleaning but sure some of you long time owners have little tricks you use to keep them looking showroom condition. Thanks

Johnny in Ga.
jhow34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-10-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
Scott_in_TX
Top Contributor

Garage

Melted rubber/plastic on the exhaust seems to be the most recurring question.
I have had good luck with EZ-off oven cleaner. Spray it on (I have heard to keep it off your paint) leave it for a couple hours then scrub a little. Repeat if necessary. Works well. I have also heard that magic erasers work, and 000 steel wool.

There are a lot of products for you windshield, and depending on what material it is, several products that you should not use. Do a search and enjoy.
I use soapy water only, and wash it lightly several times during a regular wash; by the time I am done with the bike, the shield is clean as a whistle. When the shield gets enough bugs to need to be cleaned; I figure it is time to wash the entire bike.

Scott

2011 Rocket III Touring
Phantom Black
Naughty

There can be no happiness if the things we believe in are different from the things we do
Scott_in_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:46 PM   #3
pacomutt
Lifetime Premium

Lemon Pledge. Seriously!

Wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then.
.........Bob Seger
pacomutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:49 PM   #4
DrifterDog