fuel leak out of air filter/cleaner - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > Motorcycle Models > Vulcan 800

Old 03-13-2011, 09:32 PM   #1
scarpacci

Default fuel leak out of air filter/cleaner

i have a 95 vulcan 800. i was on a day ride (one of my first) in some regrettably rough terrain. it was unintentional to go down a dirt road but it became unavoidable after a bit. anyway, after a while we stopped for a rest, and upon start up about 10 minutes later the bike sounded weird. in fact it sounded like it wasn't getting air. it would run, but as soon as i gave it some gas to go, it would die. got off, looked around and then saw copious amounts of fuel coming out of the air filter. as i'm new to motorcycles and such i had no idea what was going on. towed the bike out later that night, and while doing so, one of the tie-downs snapped and the bike fell over in the trailer. got back there and there's coolant on the floor of the trailer. so now i have two problems. there's no visible cracks or anything in the radiator and i can't see the source of the leak. any suggestions on how to move forward with these two problems. i ordered the repair manual today. i think i have the fuel "leak" issue figured out, but not sure. and i have no idea on the coolant issue. any help would be appreciate very, very gratefully.
scarpacci is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2011, 10:46 PM   #2
mumbles
Top Contributor

Common problem for gas coming out of the airbox is that thrash (grit, sand, ect) made the float stay open causing the gas to run out of the carb.
Sometimes gas goes into the crankcase also. Check the oil level site glass and see if the oil is overfilled or better yet open the oil fill cap and sniff it. If it smells like gas then drain the oil and change out the filter.