Z bars? - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > Motorcycle Models > Vulcan 1500

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
Wykidtron
Junior Member
 
Wykidtron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 9
Default Z bars?

Hey guys I have a 96 classic 1500 and I'm looking into z bars over the off season. I'm looking at the road6customs set. The big question is with stock risers what is the tallest bar I can put on without changing my cables???
Wykidtron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2012, 10:15 PM   #2
Wykidtron
Junior Member
 
Wykidtron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 9
Default

anybody???????????????
Wykidtron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:50 PM   #3
amsiegel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 56
Default

Not sure how much this is going to help. My Vulcan is an 87 and the bars are 12 inches high from top curve to bottom curve. There is some space on the throttle cable to go higher but no room left with the break and clutch lines.

Just a guess but remove clutch or brake clamps and lift it up and see how much higher they will go.
amsiegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:21 PM   #4
Wykidtron
Junior Member
 
Wykidtron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 9
Default

It does help a bit. unfortunately my bike is in the shop right now due to a broken shift fork (thank you previous owner) im guessing I can get 12's in there (I hope) otherwise im gna have to settle for ten inch minis i think
Wykidtron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:04 PM   #5
amsiegel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 56
Default

One other thing. The bars where on the bike when I got it. As far as I can tell the lines look original.

Also remember farther foward or back and the angle of the bars will effect the amount of length you can play with. On my last bike (sports bike/cbr) there was very little play in the length og the lines and could only put in a one inch riser with out doing any modifications (cutting tabs) over an inch and a half new cables where need.

So when you get back just remove the clutch and break housing and see what type of range you have.
amsiegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum