Need rear brake cable - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums > Motorcycle Models > Vulcan 800

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 12:06 PM   #1
knightrider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 133
Default Need rear brake cable

I tried and failed to lube the cable with a tool I got from the shop. Its sticking and thats never a good thing. Does anyone have a working one sitting around the garage? its for a 98 vulcan classic 800vn
knightrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2012, 12:52 PM   #2
Comanche
Senior Member
 
Comanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 346
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightrider View Post
I tried and failed to lube the cable with a tool I got from the shop. Its sticking and thats never a good thing. Does anyone have a working one sitting around the garage? its for a 98 vulcan classic 800vn
Did you make sure anything isn't bent or chafed first? What about taking it all the way off and giving it a good thorough cleaning before resigning yourself to replace it? Post back what you find out and fix.
__________________
It ain't about where you live; it's about how you live. So, ride to live, Bruh.
Comanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:46 PM   #3
knightrider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 133
Default

Comanche, on your advise I tore it all apart. A few curse words later, it was sitting in my hand. It does not have movement at all between the cable and rubber housing. I got it to move about one inch and could see the cable is rusted, but with all my might thats as far as I could pull it. I had bought the lube tool previously and even with a good dousing its still not moving off the bike.
knightrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:25 PM   #4
SWVA_08V2k
Top Contributor
 
SWVA_08V2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southwest Virginia
Posts: 2,861
Default

Get some penetrating oil and soak it and work it and it may break free then lube it up with the tool. If it has that much rust then there is not room for the lube either. It my just be a temp fix. It hard to tell how much of the cable has rotted away.
__________________
2008 V2K Classic
Who would have thought I would grow up to become "Spatially Educated" and play Connect-the-Dots for a living.
SWVA_08V2k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:37 PM   #5
Phil in Maine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 304
Garage
Default

Well a new OEM brake cable is 32 bucks on procaliber. I say buy a new one and eliminate the hassle and headaches.

Sent from my Desire HD using Motorcycle.com Free App
__________________
2000 VN800B
Phil in Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:46 PM   #6
knightrider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 133
Default

Yea, Thats what I'm planning on doing. There is too much rust in it. So much that it was causing the rod to cable mate to bend something aweful when the brake spring was trying to retract.
It's weird, it looks like a relatively new assy. But, it sat for a year before I bought it, and i let it sit 2 months between bringing it back to life and my new found problems. Bikes are weird people..
knightrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:47 PM   #7
Phil in Maine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 304
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil in Maine View Post
Well a new OEM brake cable is 32 bucks on procaliber. I say buy a new one and eliminate the hassle and headaches.

Sent from my Desire HD using Motorcycle.com Free App
http://www.procaliber.com/partstream...C17C1717F25402

Problem solved. Though I am guessing if the rear brake cable is that seized up then you most likely have some other "maintenance" issues as well. Did you just get the bike?
__________________
2000 VN800B
Phil in Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:51 PM   #8
Phil in Maine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 304
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightrider View Post
Yea, Thats what I'm planning on doing. There is too much rust in it. So much that it was causing the rod to cable mate to bend something aweful when the brake spring was trying to retract.
It's weird, it looks like a relatively new assy. But, it sat for a year before I bought it, and i let it sit 2 months between bringing it back to life and my new found problems. Bikes are weird people..
I guess I would bookmark their set then. They have good readable fisches and their prices are the lowest I have seen. I ordered a new fuel tank from them with new cap and petcock. They answered my emails quickly and seemed easy to deal with.
__________________
2000 VN800B
Phil in Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:06 PM   #9
knightrider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 133
Default

I've had it for about 6 months. the brake pads on the rear look good (according to the pad indicator). When not attached the back brake arm moves freely. I had to go out of town for 2 months when I came back this was happening and it was leaking gas. But, since I've had the cable assy off I've realized it was always happening, as the bike moves a lot free'er now ( im new to cruisers, nothing to compare it to) I fixed the leak, but brake problem persisted. I only noticed it was off when the wheel was almost to a complete stop after riding it when i got it out of mothballs. With me on it, a friend pulling the arm, the brake works and retracts just fine.
knightrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:15 PM   #10
Comanche
Senior Member
 
Comanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 346
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightrider View Post
Yea, Thats what I'm planning on doing. There is too much rust in it. So much that it was causing the rod to cable mate to bend something aweful when the brake spring was trying to retract.
It's weird, it looks like a relatively new assy. But, it sat for a year before I bought it, and i let it sit 2 months between bringing it back to life and my new found problems. Bikes are weird people..
Roger that, KnightRider. If it's not repairable just replace.
__________________
It ain't about where you live; it's about how you live. So, ride to live, Bruh.
Comanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum