1500 Classic Engine Vibration [Archive] - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums

: 1500 Classic Engine Vibration

Bandit101
09-14-2009, 03:38 PM
Purchased a 99 Vulcan Classic 1500 a few weeks ago. It has 39K on it. Starts very good but choke must be used for 1st start. Seems to have too much engine vibration. After it warms the vibration is still the same. This is a vibration that is constant just sitting still.
Only known mods are Vance Hines 2into1 pipes, and a hyper charger. I ordered a full factory exhaust system and just finished installing it. (Man is it much quieter.) Removed the carb to check the jets and they are stamped factory. 135 & 45, so I don't think anything was done there. Checked the mixture screw and it was out 3 turns, so I turned it in one.
I removed all 4 plugs and the two rear cylinder ones were very black as if running extremly rich. My milage is only about 25. Installed new plugs but that did not make a change.
I am by no means a bike mechanic, but I do know engines. So if you need more information to assist in a diagnostic, please ask.

Thanking you in advance for any suggestions and glad to be a part of this forum.

sfair
09-14-2009, 09:57 PM
Vibration probably is from a misfire. I have some questions:
1. Start OK, hot/cold?
2. Idle OK, hot/cold?
3. Backfiring at anytime?
4. Drive along oK, hot/cold?
5. Any other driveability issues, no matter how minor?
6. Back plugs...if you clean them, do they soot up right away?
6. Any other issues, even if seemingly unrelated?

Post back.

Bandit101
09-14-2009, 11:02 PM
Engine starts good, must choke when cold, but otherwise starts right up

Idle is fine

No backfires at all

Only driving problem is a dead spot at very low throttle. picks up as soon as given a little more throttle.

No other driving problems other than vibration, which disappears when clutch is pulled it, indicating it is engine vibration.

New plugs were sooted up with less than 20 miles of driving after installation