Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Dallas to Seattle at the end of the Month

918 views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  rangemaster728 
#1 ·
Hi All-
I will be picking up a 2008 Classic LT 900 in Dallas at the end of the month (26K on the clock). It looks to be in good condition with UTD maintenance but I have no first hand knowledge. Anything I should be looking for or concerned about for this trip or this bike?
This will sound stupid but I have not rode a Vulcan yet. I do have a Honda CB300F and a Scooter I ride in and around Seattle. The 2005 Yamaha Majesty Scooter is for sale. Have not ridden a bike I was not comfortable on yet and will be taking it around Dallas for a few days while on business.
In any case, the Classic is supposed to be built for this type of trip so any thoughts would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
agoodtoy (Kiel)
PS: Picture of the beast attached.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Tires are going to be a concern for the trip to OR. Listen for a pronounced whine that will indicate a failing stator.
Also, you may consider an air hawk or other type of seat pad. The 900 stock seat is pretty uncomfortable after a few hours.

Other than that, the VN900lt is great for that kind of task. Enjoy!

#4 ·
I rode my ZX9R Ninja from Auburn, WA to Daytona Beach, FL in October a few years back for Biketoberfest. 4000 miles in 6 days. (I used a gel seat pad and a Corbin saddle) Rode through TX including Dallas.