Carburetor Do or Do Not - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
 23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 55 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 08:44 AM Thread Starter

Year/Make/Model: 2000 Vulcan 800A
Color: Black
Garage
Carburetor Do or Do Not

My bike will start and idle for a 5 minutes or so then die. I have replaced all fluids, replaced spark plugs, pulled and cleaned the petcock, replaced fuel. The only thing I have not done yet is pull and clean the carburetor. I am a novice mechanic I guess you could say. I am not sure I dare open up the carburetor. Trying to decide if I should give it a go or just take it to a shop. Any advice, experiences?

Thanks! (2000, Vulcan 800)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 55 (permalink) Old 02-03-2017, 09:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiddrock24 View Post
My bike will start and idle for a 5 minutes or so then die. I have replaced all fluids, replaced spark plugs, pulled and cleaned the petcock, replaced fuel. The only thing I have not done yet is pull and clean the carburetor. I am a novice mechanic I guess you could say. I am not sure I dare open up the carburetor. Trying to decide if I should give it a go or just take it to a shop. Any advice, experiences?

Thanks! (2000, Vulcan 800)
Around here, it's $350-400 for a carb rebuild. I had the same mechanic do the rebuild on my 05 VN800B when I got it in 2010 (it had sat for 4 or 5 years). Haven't had to open it up since. Well worth having a pro handle it, in my opinion.

After the rebuild, remember to put fuel stabilizer in the tank (I use Spectro) when the bike will sit for a while.

Now for the diagnostics ... when you say the bike dies, does it rev up and then die, or bog down and die? The former is too lean, the latter too rich. It sounds like a lack of fuel pressure, so there's either a pinhole in the fuel line, a leak in the carb, or the petcock isn't quite clean enough.

-John

2016 Vaquero
2005 VN800B