Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Leaking coolant

11K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  Hot Cruiser 
#1 ·
My bike had been seating for almost a week and today I found around 7 drops of coolant under my bike, I guess under the coolant container. I am new to bikes. What areas should I inspect and check if they are tight enough? Thanks for your help.

#5 ·
just a thought but here's a guess, when rad fluid got hot and expanded into #8 there in the pic the rad reservoir tank, maybe the tank got too full and overflowed a bit of rad fluid when you were done your ride last week

#8 ·
does the 900 rad fluid reservoir tank have a see-thru plastic side tube on it? maybe check to see what level the rad fluid is at inside that tank

#9 ·
The over flow tank is a clear(cloudy) plastic. It can be viewed from the left side of the bike from the rear, about 10-12" off the ground. That or take the left side cover off along with the chrome plated plastic piece under that to see the tank and hose. A bit of a PITA.

#11 ·
when the rad fluid and bike are cold, should the recommended rad fluid level on tube be at the upper Full line or at the lower Low line, I can never remember which is recommended so I usually make my reservoir tank level half-way between F and L when bike is cold

#13 ·
hugo said recovery tank level is almost at upper line so maybe there are no loose clamps for a leak, maybe the rad fluid just overflowed the top

#14 ·
The VN900 shop manual says that coolant should be checked when the engine and system are cool, and then the coolant level in the overflow tank should be at the Full mark. When I've changed the coolant I've refilled the system to that level and thankfully so far there has been no sign of leakage or dripping coolant.

There can be confusion as with cars, etc. coolant checks when the system and engine are cool ordinarily should be at the Low mark on the overflow tank.

#16 ·
@hugo0612