Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Engine filter

2K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  Rider 50 
#1 · (Edited)
So I guess this is the wisdom I expect everyone ends up gaining after a few? years of riding and working on bikes, but I'm a newb with about 2 months under my belt and I'm late to the party.
To set the stage, it all started about 24 hours ago on a rabbit hole of video suggestions from YouTube. One of those moments where you watch one about slow speed maneuvering, which led to something about bimbos who ignore the ATGATT principle that end up biting it at 60mph. Before you know it, 2 hours have escaped you, all your laundry remains unwashed, you have no clean drawers for work and it's almost 1:30 in the morning.
Nevertheless, I found myself watching a video in which these engineers were testing different engine air filters using an elaborate computerized airflow machine. The winner being a filter I've never heard of and not presently sold in the US unless you ride a Harley or a KTM. The significance being, the Vulcan 900 OEM filter allows 78.35 cubic feet per minute of O2 and "DNA" brand filter allowing 163.8 CFM. Yes, you're reading that correctly; under this "scientifically" controlled experiment, the DNA filter demonstrates a 109% improvement in airflow vs OEM paper media. So down the hole I went, coming out where I am and wondering "so what". Does it really matter? If I'm not mistaken, isn't the engine filter supposed to prevent dirt and dust from entering the engine? Is it really a "performance" improvement so important that it warrants spending $35 in DHL express shipping from Greece vs $37 for an OEM filter? Has any of you well informed fellows ever used a DNA engine filter? I've searched the forum, but couldn't find anything informative. I'm also not sure where I stand anymore, but I do know this is the place where one should ask.