what is a bikes soul - Kawasaki Vulcan Forum : Vulcan Forums
View Poll Results: What is a bikes Soul
“Soul” is another way to express personal preference. 14 63.64%
“Soul” is a unique attribute that only some bikes can have. 5 22.73%
This topic makes me feel uncomfortable and this thread should be closed. 3 13.64%
Voters: 22. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 03-11-2015, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Top Contributor

Garage
what is a bikes soul

I've got a few observations and questions.

I've been confused by the attitudes toward motorcycle manufacturers since I started riding.
There is more insecurity and derision concerning brands in the motorcycle market than any other.

Now that I’m on forums for different brands; I see some important variation in the attitudes.

So, what is “Soul” when talking about the BRAND of a bike?

I understand that having an “un-quantifiable” attachment or desire to own a certain bike. (I feel that way about my Rocket III).

Is “Soul” more than a personal preference?

My “un-quantifiable” attachment to my Rocket is founded in real attributes but; for me it becomes more than the sum of the parts.
However; it is my personal preference and does not diminish the pros or cons of any other bike on the market.
And it doesn't spread to all bikes by the same manufacturer.

On this forum; I hear that metrics don’t have “soul” from time to time. This sounds like insecurity to me.
I find it interesting that "Soul" can be found in an entire line up of some manufacturers and completely absent from others.
I attribute it, in this forum, to the extra derision that the Japanese manufactures seem to receive.
My Euro Mfg forum doesn't seem to have the same insecurity. Nobody talks about “Soul” like it’s something more than a personal love for your own bike.

My thoughts are that it often serves as an easy transference of blame.