Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

What synthetic oil are you using?

60K views 118 replies 55 participants last post by  Splat 
#1 ·
I am currently using Mobil 1 V Twin 20-50.

I am considering either Mobil 1 T4 or Rotella T6 next time.

#4 ·
I see so many think shell rotella t6 5w40 is full synthetic, it is group III oil and synthetic is a group IV base

#6 ·
"Synthetic" oils vary quite a bit in formulation and it is very hard to find out exactly what any particular oil is made of since they are not required to say. In my professional opinion (I am a CPA, not a petroleum engineer) the first things you look at are pour point and flash point to get an indication. I understand most of the Mobil 1 oils are actually Group III, not Group IV like they used to be. Price is an indication and at $ 12 or more per quart, Kawasaki Full Synthetic and Mobil 1 4T, among others, ought to be very good oils. (or, very well marketed)

I agree Group III base oils should be labeled "Semi-synthetic," but I have been overruled by those in authority. So, you go by what information you can get and the recommendation of others based on experience. I will not use Castrol oils because:

1. They are the ones who got Group III labeled full synthetic.

2. When I bought my 05 VW Jetta TDI, they sold a 505.01 VW spec oil that pretended to be synthetic and turned out to be a blend of Group I, Group II (dinosaur oils) and Group III oils. It is my belief that is why so many PD TDIs had cam problems. That and trying to go the recommended 10k miles on a substandard oil. I only used Group III or better oils in my TDI and at 212k miles it is still going strong.

#7 ·
I am sure the Rotella T6 is not the "best" synthetic oil out there, but for me, I change the oil and filter every 2500-3000 miles anyway. In my application and opinion the Rotella T6 is by far better than the Factory 10w-40 oil, and cheaper to boot.