Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Need some mechanical advice...

2K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  acelintaylor 
#1 ·
hey guys, im new to the forum and im looking for some mechanical advice. I just picked up my first cruiser, a 97 vulcan 1500 classic. I am fairly new to bikes and tight on cash, so i am looking to wrench on my own bike. I was doing an oil change and coolant change and both of them came out a milky grey color. from everything I have read so far, my head gasket needs to be replaced. before i pull the engine i wanted to see if anybody had any new insight into what the problem might be. also, if i end up pulling the engine, is there any tips or tricks i can get from somebody who has taken this project on? and is there any other preventative maintenance i should do while the engine is out? really any info that might help would be appreciated.

#2 ·
I wish you luck on this. How many miles have you got on the bike? How many on the bike itself? Cam chain tentioner extenders are a common update to take up slack in the cam chains. Before you tear it down, might try running it a little to see if the milkyness comes back, you may get lucky and its just condensation in the oil from setting alot, but dont count on it.

#8 ·
Ok, I drained oil and coolant (both looked identical milky gray). Put in new oil, and started to put in new coolant. Took over a gallon and a half and the radiator isn't full yet. From what I have read, this should only need about a half gallon to fill from empty. I assume if I drain my oil again it will be full of coolant. Im sure this means I either have a cracked head, or best case, a bad head gasket.

#10 · (Edited)
Possible, but that would require both crankcase and pump seal to be bad and weep hole plugged. Could be a catastrophic failure on water pump shaft, though.

Plus the gallon and a half to fill???

Sounds like the engine is filling up with coolant somehow.

Antifreeze wipes out plain bearings in pretty short order.