Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Carb adjustment

4K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  GaHack1 
#1 ·
2003 1500E carb

When I park the bike after riding it for 30 minutes or so, the smell of gas in my garage is enough to just about knock you out. I know carb bikes have a smell after shut down but this seem to be more than it should be. As far as I can tell, there isn't a fuel leak. Is this just a sign that the carb needs to be leaned and if so, how would I go about doing that? I'm new to carbs so I have seen a few YouTube videos but I'm not a YouTube mechanic. Expert advise would be appreciated

#2 ·
Sorry, but a smell that bad is a sign of gas leaking.
Could be the tank, hoses, or the carb.
Maybe dripping onto something hot making the smell worse.

Do you over fill the tank when you fill gas?
Are there running issues?
How long has it been smelling that bad?
Is there a spot under the bike where you park it.

#3 ·
Do you over fill the tank when you fill gas?
Are there running issues?
How long has it been smelling that bad?
Is there a spot under the bike where you park it.
I fill up until the gas is to the bottom of the filler. I am getting 34-35 mpg which I understand is about normal. A gas leak would be killing that number wouldn't it?
No running issues. I just replaced the clutch plates and now it is running great.
It's been smelling bad for a few weeks now. The wife is really starting to complain which is why I'm now reaching out. Not sure if I can just adjust the mixture screw or if it's going to take a full rejet.
There is a spot under the bike but that was from a little oil leak that I fixed a few weekends ago. No new fluid is getting on there that I can tell.

There does seem to be (what I think) is another oil leak from under the rocker covers. I'm pretty sure it's oil but I guess it could be fuel. The rear one is brown when I touch it but I haven't touched the front one to see if it's clear or smells like gas.

Thanks for the reply,

SweetT

#4 ·