Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Gps

3K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Ilya 
#1 ·
I researched GPS units for motorcycles and was somewhat discouraged by the high cost needed to get the screen size and features I wanted. I started looking into car GPS units and the feasibility of using one on a motorcycle. You can. I have been using a Garmin DriveSmart LMT50 for over six months. I love it and do not leave home without it guiding my way.

I do want to clarify that I am a fair weather rider. If I can avoid rain, snow, tornadoes, etc., I do! Despite my best efforts, I have gotten caught in the rain with the GPS. If it was more than a mist, I placed the GPS in my tank bag which has a clear top and kept on riding.

Okay, with that said, here are the parts I used:

(1) Kawasaki DC Power Outlet
(2) Scosche USBC242M USB Car Charger
(3) GPS Unit: Garmin DriveSmart 50LMT
(4) ScreenPatronus: Garmin DriveSmart 50LMT GPS Anti Glare Screen Protector
(5) RAM Zinc Coated U-Bolt Mounting Base with 1 inch Ball
(6) Ram Mount Composite Short Double Socket Arm for 1-Inch Ball Bases
(7) 1" Ram Mount to Garmin 25mm-17mm double ball for Garmin nuvi GPS Cradle ASP25MM17

I already had the DC power outlet installed. I chose the Scosche adapter (item 2) because I have used them in the past, plus I liked having two USB ports.

I went with the Garmin DriveSmart LMT50 (item 3). The GPS has a glass face and I thought there might have too much glare so I bought an anti-glare (item 4) and put it on straight out of the box. Maybe there would not have been much glare, I do not know, guess I should have tried first, oh well. The GPS does have a larger DC power adapter that is required for the traffic alert to function, but I rarely need that, so I just use the regular USB cable.