Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Vulcan S shifting problems

27K views 22 replies 14 participants last post by  Mousedroid 
#1 ·
I've only had my bike for four weeks and for the most part love it -- except now I'm noticing a shifting issue, I think. I'm a noob who just started riding this summer, and I bought my 2015 Vulcan S used with 1200 miles on it. The shifting is hard for me to figure out because I don't have any experience with other bikes and can't compare, but it feels like a problem getting worse. First I noticed that it had a little difficulty shifting up into third. It would take me two or even sometimes three tries on occasion. At first I decided that was just a fluke and started shifting a little more firmly with my foot. But that didn't really help things, and now I think I've got a more troubling issue in the lower gears. On three different occasions I have tried to leave a parking spot in first gear only to discover that I wasn't in first as I thought (engine killed). And this morning -- also trying to leave from a parked position -- I couldn't get the bike into neutral. I know the 2015 Vulcan S's have had shifting issues reported, and Kawasaki even issued a recall at one point. But the descriptions I have read of those bikes' symptoms don't exactly resemble mine (they were about difficulties downshifting while moving). Does anyone have this problem or, better yet, any advice?

#2 ·
Check the arch of your boots

Earlier this year when my Vulcan S had about 200 miles on it. I experienced some trouble shifting into third also. I when to the dealer to have it checked. After the inspection and road test no problem found was the result.

The technician asked about my shoes and mentioned the rubber mounted shiftier assembly. I had just bought a new pair of boots. Just to check his theory, wore my old boots and normal shifting resulted. I now wear my old boot when ever riding the Vulcan S.