Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Initial service quote

7K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  rozie 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, just looking for your opinions on whether the quote was a fair one or not.

For the initial 600mile service I got quoted approximately $200 at my local kawi dealer...does this seem fair? I'm new to motorcycles so not sure what the average rates are and I don't want to get screwed over.

Thanks!

#2 ·
While a little high we paid 169.00 for Patricia's first service. An oil change go over everything, cleaned and lubed and adjusted chain so while a bit of change, worth it to have the dealer lay hands on the bike for the first service.

You need to support a dealer if you want them to support you or even be there to support you.

Not saying hand your wallet to them but they need to make a little service money as they are not making it selling new bikes.

#3 ·
That's about right. If you're a DIY type much of the service items can be done yourself. Dealerships significantly mark up the prices on oil changes, many of us do those ourselves and save a lot of money (and enjoy doing it); but there's a certain peace of mind in having the dealer do that first service and check things over.

#5 ·
Peace of mind is good but just be aware that the dealer cannot deny a warranty claim because you did maintenance yourself instead of a dealer. Some dealers will say that; but the law doesn't allow for it. They would have to prove that a lack of or improperly done maintenance CAUSED the fault.

If it's worth it for convenience and peace of mind, go for it of course! But don't let Dealers convince you that'll you'll void your warranty or have a tough time with warranty claims if you do your own basic maintenance.

#6 ·
As I said I wanted the first to be on the books. After that one the dealer will never see the bike again.