Kawasaki Vulcan Forum banner

Looking for a bike, please

3K views 37 replies 19 participants last post by  colemantle 
#1 ·
Hi folks, greetings - I'm so glad this forum exists! I am a Massachusetts Public school teacher in my 60s who's about to get a bike for a retirement present to myself. I haven't ridden in around 30 years and I'm a bit nervous so I'm gonna spend the money and take a bunch of riding /safety classes. Now my budget is small, but so are my needs as I'll be a weekend warrior on occasion and I've decided I want a Kawasaki Vulcan Vaquero or Voyager either 1500 or 1600 or 1700, but not TOO heavy, and I definitely want a bat wing style fairing, AND with hard side bags, and old enough to have the price down around 3500 bucks =/-or thereabouts. So I'm new here and I assume I'll have to post this on a few of the threads/sections here to get maximum exposure. Friends, please advise....! Thanks so much and happy holiday season to you all!! pete

#2 · (Edited)
Welcome to the Forum! I hope you find what you are looking for, but just a quick search here in Colorado Springs I can see it will be tough to find a Vaquero or Voyager in that price range, at least a decent one that does not need some work. Since your going to be a weekend warrior, and may not be going on many long trips, I would recommend you consider the Vulcan 900 or similar. You can find real nice ones in that price range, they are not heavy, and have more power then you would expect. I come from a long line of Sport Bikes, and of course the 900 won't keep up with a 1,000 CC Sport Bike, but it does what it needs to do for my needs, I enjoy it and I am not a super light weight, I'm 220 lbs. I am sure there is a large supply of hard bag kits for these bikes you can pick up to meet your requirements. Just food for thought! Good luck on your search and keep us posted.

#3 ·